Chronology Current Month Current Thread Current Date
[Year List] [Month List (current year)] [Date Index] [Thread Index] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Prev] [Date Next]

[Phys-L] Nobel prize: Art Ashkin, Gérard Mourou, and Donna Strickland

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 was awarded “for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics” with one half to Arthur Ashkin “for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems”, the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland “for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses”.


Fun fact: Art Ashkin's office at Bell Labs was a couple doors
down from Steve Chu, who won the Nobel Prize in 1997. They
were both department heads (each with their own department).